BurdaStyle for the First Time

Well hello there.  Yes, it has been some time since I last posted anything.  Thanks for sticking around.  My ready to wear fast was over in October and I made it!  Made it, get it?  Anywho, sewing slowed down this summer, as it usually does for me.  This year though it was because I was busy training for a Triathlon, which I completed in August.  It was totally awesome and I plan to do it again next summer.  After the tri things didn’t slow down and my sewing didn’t pick up.  Oh well, at least I got one more garment made right at the tail end of 2013.

I have wanted to make this BurdaStyle t-shirt ever since I first saw it in 2012.

BurdaStyle 114B T-shirt

But, I have a confession to make….I have never been brave enough to sew a BurdaStyle or Burda World of Fashion pattern.  I have been totally intimidated by them.   Silly I know.  I am 50 years old.  I have been sewing for years, and I am afraid of a pattern company.  Well, in a determined moment I paid for this pattern and downloaded it.

I don’t know why I have been so intimidated by these patterns.  This pattern is lovely.  It is well drafted and easy to sew.  I used a lovely ITY jersey I got from Gorgeous Fabrics last summer (sorry she is all sold out).  I cut out a size 42 with 5/8″ seam allowances and stitched it up.  I am really happy with the results.

This top is pretty long.  It is about 26 inches at center back.  If I were to make it again, I would probably shorten it just a bit.

The sleeves are long too, but I like them like that.  It is hard to see, but the sleeves have the same gather detail as the front does.

I really didn’t follow the instructions much.  Not that there are many.   Here is what I changed.

1.  I serged all my seams.

2.  The instructions call for Vilene Bias Tape/stay tape (I had to google it).  I have no such thing but I do have this…so this is what I used.

3.  The instructions tell you to cut  facing strips out of the fashion fabric.  These are used to back the gathered seams. I used Seams Great instead.  I didn’t want all the extra bulk the fabric strips would have added.

4.  It also calls for a back neck facing strip.  The instructions were confusing to me, and when I tested their method I could not get it to look like anything other than home-made.  I used a Kwik Sew method instead.  Below is a photo of the Kwik Sew method. Worked like a charm.

That’s about it.  The only other thing is that my muslin, a light cotton knit, fit great, but when I made it up in the jersey it was a bit tighter than what I like.  Thankfully I had a 5/8″ seam allowance to play with and I ended up serging a narrow 1/4″ seam allowance at the side and sleeve seams.

This was a fun top to make and even more fun to wear.  If you want to make one of these up, be sure that you are using a knit that drapes well.  I have about 1 1/2 yards left of this great fabric.  Thinking about making a skirt to go with the top.  I am saving the scraps too because I think they will make great accent pieces in work out clothes.

I don’t know why I waited so many years to try a Burda magazine pattern, but I am glad I finally did.  If you are hesitant, pick something simple and go for it.

Happy New Year everyone!  Oh, I have decided to do another Ready to Wear Fast with Sarah of Goodbye Valentino.  Want to join us?  Here is the link http://goodbyevalentino.com/2013/12/01/invitation/.

10 thoughts on “BurdaStyle for the First Time

  1. Congrats on your RTW fast – I took part last year as well, and succumbed to just one holiday T-shirt when I was in vacation in New Zealand in September. But, I’m good with that! I was in two minds about signing up again for 2014, and then thought – well, why wouldn’t I?

    Your new top is lovely – great colors, and I like the ‘top tip’ for the back neck – I will remember that!

  2. Congratulations on nailing your first Burda (I think it’s perfect as is) and completing your first year of RTW fasting! I haven’t “officially” joined for the coming year, but I don’t know why not. Since it’s been over 4 years of fasting for me, I just don’t see a reason….?

Leave a Reply

