Style Arc Patterns

One More Peasant Top

You might remember when I made my first peasant top that I was not sold on it straight away. However, every time I wear it I get compliments, and the top has started to grow on me. Enough so that I decided that this Style Arc pattern was worthy of my Oscar de la Renta black silk. One thing I didn’t like about the pattern the first time around was the excess fabric at the side seams, so I re-drafted them. I measured in 2 inches at the waist and then tapered from the armysce and the hem to draw the new side seam.

I used ribbon for the neck-tie instead of the self fabric tie called for in the pattern.

Due to the embossed nature of the fabric, I used silk organza to interface the slit facing instead of fuseable.    The construction of the opening was somewhat confusing.  Not that they were wrong, just sparse.  If I was a new sewist I would have been like “huh?”  As it was, I figured it out and it turned out just fine.  As I, and many more in blog-land have mentioned, Style Arc construction directions are, well, they are limited.  Much like Burda Style patterns.

I also decided not to put the elastic in the sleeves, but used a ruffle trim instead.  All I did was hem the sleeve and then stitched on the trim.

I love how the trim has the same ribbon as the ribbon I used for the tie.  I found the trim at JoAnn’s.

Overall, I am happy with how this turned out.  I think I will get a lot of use out of it.  It will look great with a black wool skirt, tights and boots.

Next up, an outfit for my niece’s wedding on January 12th.  I need something warm, as it is in an old fruit cold storage building and comfortable, as I am the photographer…..I have a few ideas.  I think I will make this Vogue 8837 skirt.

And McCall’s 6399 top.

Ready, set, go!

14 thoughts on “One More Peasant Top

  1. Just reading how you didn’t like the excess fabric down the side seams of your peasant top (just like I have also mentioned in my blog today)… I will go and compare your two tops and see if that’s the change I need to make on my own one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

