Butterick Patterns · RTW Fast

Fearless February Sew-along

So how can it be February already? Believe me, I am not complaining. January was snowy and cold…really cold…like single digits cold for 3 weeks. Good riddance I say. Last week I read about the Fearless February Sew-along on Victoria’s blog Ten Thousand Hours of Sewing. It struck a chord with me. I often let my fear of making a mistake in the sewing room stop me from starting or sometimes finishing a project. So, I have two goals for my own Fearless February. 1). Finish the Claire Shaeffer tailored jacket I started 5 years ago in a class and 2). try my hand at piece work for a local clothing manufacturer.

I am happy to report that I have made progress on one of the two. On Monday, I called C&C Sutlery. They make and sell Civil War and Indian War period clothing, and I had heard that they were looking for more seamstresses to do piece work for them. They gave me a men’s shirt to sew up as a trial garment. Today I delivered it to them and they were really happy with the work. I have a couple of reasons for doing this….first off, it is a way to possibly subsidise my fabric obsession. I mean, I won’t get rich, but every little bit helps when it comes to fabric accumulation. Secondly, I want to stretch my skills. I want to become a faster, more organized, and more confident sewist. I think this will help. I just need to make sure that I keep time for my sewing because I need to work on my first goal for February, sewing up that jacket. I will keep you posted.

Before I go, I wanted to share with you my Butterick 4989. I picked up this pattern not too long back because I love the look of view B (the long sleeve blue one).

I have this wonderful brown and black wool plaid that I think it would look great made up in this.  Of course I wanted to try it out first before I cut into my beautiful wool, so I pulled out a  rayon/poly (insert icky cheap) fabric  that I picked it up at JoAnns a few years back for .99 cents a yard.  I have enough to make a skirt too.  Yay me.  The fabric is pretty to look at but not really that much fun to sew.  Anyway, moving on.  Here is how it turned out.

I’m not sure if you can tell from this photo, but the fronts are on the bias, so I think it would look really cool with a plaid.  The only changes I made were to shorten the body 1 inch and the sleeves 2 inches.

The fabric misbehaved a lot…here is one of the sleeves after pressing.

I had to give it a stern talking to.

There, that’s better

The color of the jacket is a dark chocolate with pastel slubs.  It reminds me of an Easter basket.

I’m glad I shortened it.

Here is the side view, and Sam.  He was soaking up the sun in the bedroom windows.  I have no idea what he is looking at…maybe he is beseeching God that he won’t get swallowed by my sleeves.  I think I will taper the next ones.

I really like wearing the jacket, but I am wondering if the style is too trending to commit my wool to.  Hmmm….what do you guys think?

10 thoughts on “Fearless February Sew-along

  1. Funny that you wrote this yesterday because I pulled out a robe I started before Christmas. I’m just learning to sew, I was stumped on the pattern…so I stopped. (Major fear) Yesterday I took a chance at it again and finished it. and now I know what I did wrong. Who writes these patterns anyway??? I guess each thing you make is a learning experience.. Congrats on your job. That’s very cool!!! And I love your jacket. I think it looks classic. I would make it in wool too!!

  2. I think it’s really cute and would look great in the wool! Tapering the sleeves is an excellent idea, and I think it would give it a more classic look. Sam is absolutely adorable! 🙂

    1. Thanks Jane. The CS jacket NEEDS to be done. I have the muslin made and everything. If I remember right, I am in the middle of pad stitching, but I havn’t worked on it for 5 years now…..

  3. Congratulations on the piece work success! IMHO, even a bit of sewing-related income is wonderful, as long as you’re enjoying doing it :).

    And I think that your version of that jacket will be a look that lasts 🙂 The super long pointy patterns, perhaps not so much (although I like them), but yours, I think, is more classic, especially if you narrow the sleeves.

    Love the happy kitty shot!

    1. I enjoyed making the shirt. Not complicated, just different sewing with limited directions, so I had to figure out the construction by myself. Good learning experience for sure!

  4. Wow! Sewing for the Civil War (re-enactment?) sounds fun. It would b cool to make garments that you would not ordinarily make – well done to you!!

    Love your cute jacket – and I would say ‘use your lovely fabric’! I read ages ago that you should always use your favourite/best fabric rather than keeping it folded on a shelf it. Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

