RTW Fast · Vogue Patterns

Burnout Velvet Jacket

Last fall I was in my local fabric store one last time before they closed FOREVER…..still not over it….and this beautiful burnout velvet called my name…..

How could I resist….and it was like 50% off, because like I said the store was closing….can we have a moment of silence please?  Thank you.  Anyway, I bought 3 yards of it, because, well because it was pleading with me to take it home, and I believe that it was my duty to stash it safe and sound in my fabric closet.  Then Vogue 8885 (view D) came along and I thought that it was a match made in heaven.

I must say, it turned out pretty much how I had pictured it.

This is an unlined jacket, and the wrong side shows in the front.  Just what I wanted for this lovely piece of fabric.

I love the back, almost more than the front.  The lower ruffle adds an unexpected touch to the jacket.

This is me, asking my husband if he can see the ruffle….

The pattern calls for a 5/8″ hem, which gives the front edges a very nice look.  The fabric was fiddly, and I had a hard time folding up a nice even edge, so I first stitched a 5/8″ line of stitching all the way around the  edge.  I then pressed the raw edge up to the stitching line, and then turned it again along the stitching line to enclose the raw edge.

I have a few caveats about the pattern: 1) the pattern  sheet graphics are wrong, not the wording, but the line drawings.

Step 2 says to stitch the WRONG SIDES together…this is correct.  The line drawing shows stitching the RIGHT SIDES together….this is WRONG.  So, if you make up this pattern, ignore the line drawings and do what the text says.

Speaking of the center back seam, after wearing this today I decided that I wanted to tack down the center back seam to keep it in place, so I found an lovely orphan button in my stash and stitched  it on.

This is also a good look at the WRONG SIDES together neck center back seam :).

Okay, where were we?  Oh yes, caveat 2).  The armsyce is high and the sleeves are narrow, so I don’t think this would be very comfortable over something with long sleeves.  While we are talking about sleeves, the line drawing looks like a set-in sleeve, but there is actually a small amount of gathers at the sleeve head….just so you know.

Happy Memorial Day Weekend.  Thank you to all who have served!

14 thoughts on “Burnout Velvet Jacket

  1. Wow! Wow wow wow….a simple pattern for a simply stunning result! I just love it over the red – a bright color really showcases the beauty of the burnout. Very nice 🙂

    1. I think your right. Red would be lovely! I have a piece of silver/gray bridal satin I bought with it just in case I wanted to underline it, now I think that will become either a top or a dress to go under it.

  2. WOW! This is stunning, and you did this divine fabric justice 🙂 I feel for you, with your local fabric store closing down. I haven’t quite got over my local one closing down either. I would have to move if the one other one closed down too!

    1. Thanks Carolyn. I am now haunting the online stores, but it is nothing like being in a brick and mortar store.

  3. Very nice indeed – and all the better for the fabric being reduced in price (although I am skipping over the ‘fabric shop closing’ situation!). Smart and casual at the same time!

    1. Yes, I have been in denial for sometime now…well until I try to find something simple at JoAnn’s…like nice lining.

  4. Teri, that is SUCH a great jacket! It’s really, really beautiful and so flattering on you. I may have to put this one on my hefty “to do” pile! The burnout fabric is a perfect choice…it almost brings to mind the style of Alabama Chanin. Well done.

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. If you make one you won’t be disappointed and if you are a Club BMV member, Vogue patterns are on sale today. 🙂

Leave a comment