McCall Patterns · RTW Fast

From the Pool to the Car Cover-up

Did I tell you all that in honor of my birthday this year (it is one of those that ends in a zero) I signed up for a triathlon?  Well I did, and it is fast approaching.  I am in for the “sprint.”  That means for you non-tri readers, swim 500 yds (open water), bike 10 miles, and then a run 5k.   I was feeling all good about myself, until a friend of mine, who is in his 70’s, told me he was doing the Olympic distance this year…..okay, way to make me feel like a slacker.  I will see how this year goes.  Maybe I will do the Olympic next year.  Anyway, I have started my swimming training, which is fine.  What is not so fine, is putting your clothes back on over your slightly damp body.  I hate that feeling.  On Tuesday, after my shower, toweling off, and then wiggling into my long pants and top, I thought, I need some easy sundresses to wear home from the pool.  Enter McCall’s 6744.

I picked this  pattern up for like $1.00 I think, and it is a gem.  I made up view A yesterday in less than 3 hours.  That is from cutting to hemming.  You’ve gotta love 4 pattern pieces!

The fabric is a light knit fabric that I picked up from my local thrift store for pennies (3 yards for $1 total).  This my friends, makes my cover-up nearly free.

I made a size medium, straight out of the envelope.  I like everything about this, except the bodice is a tad short.  Next time I will lengthen it, so that the elastic hits me a little lower.  I love the versatility of this pattern.  You can mix and match the fronts, backs and skirts to your heart’s content, and a belt would totally take this from a cover-up to a respectable going to town sundress.  I see several more of these in my future.

Today is a swim day.  Can’t wait to wear it!

15 thoughts on “From the Pool to the Car Cover-up

  1. Don’t you just love that sewing allows you to just whip up something exactly for the purpose instead of getting kinda okay things from the shops. Love the colour and its the perfect pattern 🙂

Leave a Reply

