Other Stuff · RTW Fast

Church Ladies Apron and a new to me Bernina!

How can it be May 11th already?  Wow, just wow.  This time of year finds me not in my sewing room as much as I would like, but I was able to get a small project done today.  Go me!

I started this really cute apron pattern at an ASG neighborhood group in February.  I have been wanting to make up the Church Ladies Apron ever since I saw this Post over at the Pink Chalk Studios.  So, like I said, at the February meeting I got it started, but not finished.  It has been sitting in my sewing room waiting to be finished since then (sad face).    That is until this cute number came on the scene last weekend.

I found her on Craigslist last Saturday.  She is a Bernina 830.  A workhorse of a machine.  I have wanted a 2nd machine that I can take to sewing classes, ASG neighborhood groups and also have as a backup to my main Bernina.  And to top it all of she came with the original red case.  Happy dance!

This weekend, I decided that the two of us needed to get better acquainted, so I finished up my apron.  This machine is really nice to sew on, and has the nicest straight stich.  We are going to get along just fine.

Now to the Church Ladies Apron.  It is a fun easy pattern to sew.  I picked up the fabric when I was in Long Beach, Washington last summer for my grandmother’s funeral.  This will be a nice way to remember her.  She was a good seamstress, a good cook, and drank a lot of coffee.

Here is the other side.

I really like this pattern, and I will definitely make up some more.  It looks cute on and the neck is really comfortable to wear, not like aprons with strings that cut into the back of my neck.  Raise your hand if you want one.

I have a few projects underway in the sewing room, so hopefully you will hear from me again soon.

Sew On.

4 thoughts on “Church Ladies Apron and a new to me Bernina!

  1. I just love Pink Chalk Fabrics and your apron is so sweet. You are going to fall in love with that Bernina. I have an older one that I sew on. I swear it is my best friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

