Other Stuff

Ten Minute Table Runner…well more like twenty.

A few weeks ago, my mom and dad and I took a day trip to Crouch, Idaho.  Our main goal was to visit a quilt shop there that our ASG friends kept talking about. Stitch n’ Snip did not disappoint.  A very fun store in a beautiful setting.  It was a perfect day.  This store has a really really nice collection of batiks, and with summer winding down, I couldn’t resist the fall pattern and lovely colors of this fabric and the golden tones of the complementary fabric.  I decided that I wanted to make a quick table runner and set of napkins.  The 10 Minute Table Runner really took me a bit more than 10 minutes, maybe 20, and the 1/2 circle napkins took me about 30 minutes.  I had this project done in about an hour.  Bam.  The table runner is now on my dining room table with the golden yellow fabric side showing.  I will turn it over to the autumn leaves side soon enough, but I am not ready to say good bye to summer yet.  The total project took 1 yard of each fabric.  To make the napkins, cut a 17″ half circle out of the two fabrics, put the right sides together, stitch them together using a 1/4 seam allowance (remember to leave a hole to turn them right side out), press and topstitch all the way around.  Here is how you fold them.

This week, I hope to get back to garment sewing.  I just bought McCall’s 6963.  I can’t wait to make it up.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

