Style Arc Patterns

What I’m going to wear for Thanksgiving part II

The Simone Cardi was one of the free patterns from Style Arc this summer.  As soon as I saw it, I was intrigued by pockets.

Style Arc patterns sends a fabric swatch with many of their patterns for the recommended fabrics.  The swatch that came with this pattern was a slinky like knit.  This cardigan requires fabric with drape, lots of drape, so I decided to use a bamboo jersey I picked up from my local fabric store, CLOTH.

Doesn’t it go well with my Thanksgiving top?  The cardigan is a pretty straight forward sew.  But there are a couple things to be aware of.  Cut out two neck bands and sew them together at center back before you attach them to the fronts.  This step is omitted from the directions.

The thing that gave me the most heart burn were the pockets.  They are made by darts and folding of fabric.  Very cleaver.  However, then when put the hem in, you have to stitch through 6 layers of fabric in the pocket area.  The bamboo jersey is sort of spongy which made those 6 layers very thick.

At first I stitched the hem per the directions, but I was not  happy with how it looked.  The transition between two layers and 6 layers looked BAD, like loving hands of home bad.  So I took the hem out and did a blind hem by hand.  That looked better, but it didn’t close the bottom of the pockets which I didn’t like when I put my hands in the pockets.

After pondering the problem for a day or so I decided to try trimming some fabric out of the hem allowance.   So I cut the two interior hem allowances, which are the bottom of the pockets, right at the fold line for the hem.

Then I turned the hem up and pressed.

Much better.  I then machine stitched the hem, which closed the bottom of the pockets as well.

I am not completely in love with how the cardigan looks from the side.  The side seams have a hard time standing up to the heavy front pockets and tend to pull forward.  It is hard to see from this picture but if you look close you can see a diagonal line coming from the side seam into the pocket.  I think a slinky fabric might have the texture/weight needed to eliminate that.

I am not sure if I will make up another one of theses.  I need to see how much I really wear this one.  I do plan to wear the combo tomorrow with my Katherine Tilton’s Vogue 8837 pants.

Now if you will excuse me, I must go bake some pies.  Happy Thanksgiving !

One thought on “What I’m going to wear for Thanksgiving part II

Leave a Reply

