McCall Patterns · RTW Fast

McCall’s 6796

We had a very long beautiful fall, and many of us got lulled into the nice weather.  Then one morning 2 weeks before Thanksgiving, it started snowing.  Nine inches later it stopped and I started thinking about sweaters.  Enter McCall’s 6796.

First I made up view B in a piece of sweater knit I bought at a thrift store for 2 bucks.  I cut a size 14 and sewed it up straight out of the envelop.

The fabric is more of a blue green, but it doesn’t show up very well in this flashed photo.  It is probably a polyester/acrylic blend.  I did a burn test when I got it home from the store and it definitely is man-made fibers.

The next view I made up was view D.  I made it out of THIS fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics.

I cut the collar on the cross grain rather than the lengthwise grain per the pattern.  I like how the stripes turned out. The one thing I don’t like is that I missed the side stripes by one so they don’t match up. My husband, says that no one will notice….no one who doesn’t sew that is.  Oh well, I still really like the top.  This is a very easy pattern, and it sews up quickly.  I will probably make a few more of view B.  Not sure if I will make another view D.  The collar is pretty distinctive.

Now that I have some warm tops sewn up, the weather has warmed up again.  Today was in the high 50’s.  Go figure.

8 thoughts on “McCall’s 6796

    1. Thanks Rhonda. Yes, it will return for sure, but for know, I am loving the warmer temps. We have a big charity run on Sunday so I hope it holds at least until then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

